Real or Worthless Treasure?

                                      psalm 119,162                                           

I rejoice at Your Word as one who finds great treasure.  Psalm 119:162

Recommended Reading:  PSALM 119:161-168   “161 Princes persecute me without a cause,But my heart stands in awe of Your word.162 I rejoice at Your word  As one who finds great treasure.163 I hate and abhor lying,But I love Your law.164 Seven times a day I praise You,Because of Your righteous judgments.165 Great peace have those who love Your law,And nothing causes them to stumble.166 Lord, I hope for Your salvation,And I do Your commandments.167 My soul keeps Your testimonies,And I love them exceedingly.168 I keep Your precepts and Your testimonies,For all my ways are before You.”

COMMENTS:  This morning I was reading a true story of a volunteer for a charity in Arizona was sorting through some donated books.  She discovered a badly worn and damaged copy of “The Decline and fall of the Roman Empire.”  She was about to throw it out when she noticed a cut out section in the book that created a hiding place.  In   that hidden hole was $4000.  Apparently a previous owner had used it to hide money and went to that point undiscovered.  The story didn’t reveal any other details, but was used as illustrations that things are not always as they appear and “we can’t judge a book by its cover or condition”. 

Well, how many Bibles sit on shelves collecting dust forgotten while their treasures of truth and life and God’s wisdom wait for discovery in its pages?          Finding $4000 hidden in a book would be a wonderful discovery but find God’s words of life and using them to guide us in critical decisions can be and often is far more valuable than unexpected money or gifts.

Don’t take His Word for granted just because it is so available and accessible.  Don’t take His Council for granted because it isn’t what you want to hear.

Granted, the hidden treasures of scripture are not always discovered instantly, but often more helpful than expected.  Our Bible not only has God’s timeless wisdom, but He provides His Holy Spirit to motivate and inspire and guide us to just the right scripture we need.

Take some time to reflect on personal examples for your life experience.  I can recall many examples of a verse discovered that became valuable later   in the day or week.  God’s timing and method often surprises us but is always perfect.                                                                         

The treasury of Scripture will enrich your mind, refocus your goals, replace your doubts, and redirect your path—but only if you read it and heed it. Start today!

To get the best use out of [the Bible] for daily life, Give it the best and freshest, not the most tired and dull, hour of the day.  M. S. Kimber in The Sunday School World, 1893

If you wish, you can access my blog at “https://donsdevotions.wordpress.com“. There you will find 478 blog posts I have made plus a link to my devotional journal material archives from 2013 to present.

You may also access my Facebook page and request to be my friend and automatically receive my daily journal publications daily.  My Facebook page is: https://www.facebook.com/Dondevotionals/ Many thanks to a pastor and dear brother in Christ in Nepal who set up the above Facebook page to help and encourage and give opportunity for more to   explore and use my devotional blog materials.

My hope and prayer are, my blog and devotional materials will become a source of encouragement and tools in ministry for you.

Leave a comment